Forum Index
SUBSIM Forum Search

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!
[ SUBSIM Review ] [ SUBSIM STORE ]
Current Forum | Archives 2002-2003 |

Patrol submerged or surfaced?

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.     Forum Index -> Silent Hunter III
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Nachoen

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:11 am    Post subject: Patrol submerged or surfaced? Reply with quote

Hello everybody, im new to this game and was wandering what the best way of patrolling an assigned grid is, surfaced or submerged? Which one will give the highest chance of detecting enemy ships?
kptn_kaiserhof

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

u get a good chance of being spotting by the enemy surfaced

but after 1939 and 1940 u get a better chance of being spotted by a british southerland or catalina flying boat / aircraft
if your on the surface

GOOD LUCK

Last edited by kptn_kaiserhof on Tue May 02, 2006 11:31 am; edited 2 times in total
Nachoen

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, really having a hard time finding targets, but i guess its just practice like with everything else:)
Perilscope

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My advice, every so many kilometers (~20km) dive at periscope dept and slow down to 1 knot. Listen on the hydrophone for any screw sounds in the area. If no sound is present, continue your patrol above the waters and seek smoke trails. Repeat the step all along your patrols, you will find more ships then you whished for… Wink

Good Luck and welcome to subsim!
slow_n_ez

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote