Forum Index
SUBSIM Forum Search

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!
[ SUBSIM Review ] [ SUBSIM STORE ]
Current Forum | Archives 2002-2003 |

TMA and range determination
Goto page 1, 2  Next

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.     Forum Index -> Dangerous Waters
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Troels K

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:27 pm    Post subject: TMA and range determination Reply with quote

Hi Smile

I’m new to Dangerous waters.

I’m having some difficulties determining the correct range to a contact. Damn

At the moment I’m using active sonar to find the range. However, it would be nice if the range could be found without active sonar.

Therefore, how do you guys determine a suitable range to a possible target?

I know the basic TMA like lead/lag course, but the manual says that two or tree legs will result in a single possible solution (page 5-22), these two or tree maneuvers confuses me. Confused

This is probably a huge subject, however, some short guidelines would also be appreciated. Thumbs Up

Thanks in advance.

Troels
MaHuJa

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easy way out, is to use the autotma. Given enough time, it'll give you a dead-on solution.

Manually, things are a bit more complicated. But all in all, the extra legs are pretty much a requirement. It's a bit hard to explain, at least without illustrations, but there is a saying of sorts; that a change in bearing rate is needed for a good solution. By changing your own course or speed, you're forcing that bearing rate change. The more radical the change, the better.

Personally, I only exceptionally start working on a solution before well into a second leg.
Sonoboy

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote