Forum Index
SUBSIM Forum Search

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!
[ SUBSIM Review ] [ SUBSIM STORE ]
Current Forum | Archives 2002-2003 |

Getting started - SCX?? SCU?? SCXII??

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.     Forum Index -> Sub Command
View previous topic :: View next topic  
syndicatedragon

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:04 pm    Post subject: Getting started - SCX?? SCU?? SCXII?? Reply with quote

I'm just getting started with this game. I've gathered that SCX, SCXII and SCU are some kinds of mods for the game? What do they do? Where do I get them? Should I just play the "vanilla" game first?

Also, where is a good place to get scenarios and stuff? Should I bother with the "built-in" ones?

thanks.
Sea Demon

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey syndicatedragon -

1. SCX/SCXIIc is a mod that puts more platforms in the game from many more different countries. It also changes doctrine files and such for more realism in gameplay.

2. SCU is a mod that allows players to make other submarines in the game playable. (i.e. Victor III, Alfa class SSN, Collins, Han SSN, etc.) Definitely worth the download.

3. A great place to get the downloads and many different scenarios is at www.subguru.com.

4. When you install SCX/SCU, make sure you read the "read-me" files thoroughly. I think installing these mods is easy if you read the directions. The makers of SCX have done magnificent work here. You will be impressed.

5. May I recommend you go over to Battlefront and order a copy of Sonalyst's new game Dangerous Waters. If you like Sub Command, you will love Dangerous Waters...guaranteed. Yep

6. Welcome to Subsim.

Sea Demon
Ramius

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi syndicatedragon,

Hope you enjoy your stay in the Subsim forums Thumbs Up